Chelsea confirm three exits as confusing Lewis Hall decision made before transfer announcement

By Staff

Chelsea have released their retained list after the 2023/24 campaign with no surprises. Outside of Thiago Silva, no player included in the first-team last season has left the club, with only two academy exits being confirmed.

Noah Hay and Josh Brooking will depart, like Silva, officially at the end of their contracts later this month. Samuel Rak-Sakyi has been offered a new deal.

One name that jumps out is Lewis Hall. Having spent the season on loan at Newcastle he is expected to make his deal in the north east permanent. Hall only started eight Premier League games under Eddie Howe last season, and five of those came in the final month.

He had been close to signing a new deal with the Blues – where he came through the Cobham academy – but was instead sent to Newcastle following a late twist. There, Hall agreed to a initial loan with an obligation to buy based on team performance.

The Magpies achieved the goals needed to ensure a deal of around Β£30million for Hall will be completed. However, for now he is still on loan away from Chelsea and therefore deemed to be on their books.

Speaking in March Howe even confirmed the matter. β€œIn terms of my thinking, I’m preparing for Lewis to be at Newcastle for many years,” he said.

READ MORE: Enzo Maresca has already sent brutal Chelsea warning after club confirm five-year contract

READ MORE: Mauricio Pochettino breaks silence amid Chelsea departure and Enzo Maresca appointment

Until his purchase is confirmed – likely to be at the start of July given the June 30 loan cut-off – he remains a player ‘retained’ by Chelsea. The club, for instance, had to give Silva permission to leave and join Fluminese once the Premier League season had finished.

Also of note for Chelsea is Malang Sarr, who has spent the entire season training with the academy sides and never playing a game. He is one of numerous players who are out of contract in 2025.

Chelsea full retained list: Josh Acheampong, Travis Akomeah, Ato Ampah, Tino Anjorin, Kepa Arrizabalaga, Benoit Badiashile, Eddie Beach, Lucas Bergstrom, Marcus Bettinelli, Somto Boniface, Angelo Gabriel, Armando Broja, Mason Burstow, Moises Caicedo, Luke Campbell, Cesare Casadei, Leo Castledine, Trevoh Chalobah, Chinonso Chibueze, Ben Chilwell, Carney Chukwuemeka, Marc Cucurella, Jamie Cumming, Ted Curd, Diego Moreira, Deivid Washington, Axel Disasi, Kiano Dyer, Enzo Fernandez, David Datro Fofana, Wesley Fofana, Conor Gallagher, Billy Gee, Tyrique George, Alfie Gilchrist, Omari Hutchinson, Michael Golding, Malo Gusto, Lewis Hall, Brodi Hughes, Bashir Humphreys, Nicolas Jackson, Reece James, Romeo Lavia, Romelu Lukaku, Robert Sanchez, Ian Maatsen, Noni Madueke, Alex Matos, Harrison McMahon, Donnel McNeilly, Leanardo Cardosa, Max Merrick, Jimmy-Jay Morgan, Mykhailo Mudryk, Harrison Murray-Campbell, Andrey Santos, Christopher Nkunku, Richard Olise, Cole Palmer, Djordje Petrovic, Samuel Rak-Sakyi, Dion Rankine, Dujuan Richards, Frankie Runham, Reiss-Alexander Russel-Denny, Levi Colwill, Ishe Samuels-Smith, Malang Sarr, Teddy Sharman-Lowe, Zain Silcott-Duberry, Gabriel Slonina, Raheem Sterling, Zak Sturge, Ronnie Stutter, Jimi Taurianen, Lesley Ugochukwu, Harvey Vale, Shaun Wade, Charlie Webster, Dylan Williams, Kaiden Wilson

Scholars: Genesis Antwi, Kai Crampton, Ollie Harrison, Saheed Olagunju, Marcell Washington

Want to keep up to date with the breaking and important Chelsea stories whilst on the move? Well now you can!

Click this link to follow the Chelsea WhatsApp channel, where you’ll be kept up to date on the latest Blues news wherever you are.

Just remember to turn on the notifications once you’ve followed, and you won’t miss a beat!

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *