Hendon General Election 2024 results as Labour wins by just 15 votes

By Staff

David Pinto-Duschinsky has been declared as the next MP for Hendon. The constituency’s new MP beat Ameet Jogia, their Conservative rival, at the ballot box by just 15 votes.

Hendon has an electorate of 74,865 and votes from 44 polling stations were counted at the RAF Museum in Colindale overnight (Thursday, July 4 and Friday, July 5). In 2019, Matthew Offord, who did not run this time, won the seat for the Tories with a 4,230 majority.

Mr Pinto-Duschinksy attained 15,855 votes, compared to Mr Jogia’s 15,840. Mr Jogia told MyLondon he was ‘devastated’ to lose by so few votes.

READ MORE: Next Prime Minister told to ‘break the cycle’ as London rough sleeping ‘at record high after doubling’

Full seat results

G: 2667
LD: 1966
SDP: 139
Con 15840
Workers: 1518
Ref: 3038
Lab: 15855
Rej EU: 233

Nationally, Labour has won a landslide, with at least 410 seats. The Conservatives have won just 119.

The Liberal Democrats have won 71 , Reform UK four and The Green Party two. In Scotland, the SNP only secured 9 seats with Plaid Cymru in Wales on four.

Sir Keir Starmer has said the country was ‘ready for change’ in his victory speech as his party appeared on course for a landslide win in the General Election. The Labour leader, who looks set to become the UK’s next Prime Minister, added: “you have voted, it is now time for us to deliver”.

An exit poll indicated Labour is forecast to have a 170-seat majority in the Commons, with the Conservatives reduced to their lowest number of MPs on record.

In his acceptance speech after being re-elected in Holborn and St Pancras, Sir Keir said: “Tonight, people here and around the country have spoken and they are saying they’re ready for change.

“To end the politics of performance and return to politics as public service.” He added: “You have voted, it is now time for us to deliver.”

Get the biggest stories from around London straight to your inbox. Sign up to MyLondon’s The 12 HERE for the 12 biggest stories each day.

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *